All Burma Students’ Democratic Front

ျမန္မာႏိုင္ငံလံုးဆုိင္ရာ ေက်ာင္းသားမ်ား ဒီမိုကရက္တစ္ တပ္ဦး



ABSDF logo


Founded: 1 Nov. 1988
Headquarters: KNU controlled area
Operational Area: KIA and KNU controlled areas
Estimated strength: 400+ (about 200 in Kachin state)

CEC members:

  • U Than Khe (Chairperson)
  • U Myo Win (Vice-Chairperson)
  • U Sonny Mahindra (General Secretary)

The ABSDF is a student army that was formed after the 1988 uprisings. Their objectives are
to fi ght for restoring democracy, human rights, establishing a genuine federal union and dismantling the dictatorship in Myanmar alongside other democratic and ethnic nationality forces.

They have 7 camps along the Myanmar-Thailand border, 3 camps along the Myanmar-India
border and 3 camps on the Myanmar-China border. The ABSDF also has foreign branche in
the US and Australia.

Aims and Objectives:

  1. 1. To liberate the peoples of Burma from the oppression of military dictatorship
  2. 2. To achieve democracy and human rights
  3. 3. To attain internal peace
  4. 4. To bring about the emergence of a federal union in Burma Strategy


The ABSDF elects its leadership democratically. Leaders of the organisation
serve for a certain period of time (Three years) in accordance with the
ABSDF constitution. The following is the list of the organisation’s current
leaders who were elected in ABSDF’s Eight Conference convened in December
2006, to serve for a three-year executive term.

CEC members:CEC members:

1. Comrade Than Khe Chairman
2. Comrade Myo Win Vice-chairman
3. Comrade Sonny General Secretary
4. Comrade Myint Oo Secretary 1
5. Comrade Ye Htut (a) Hla Htay Secretary 2
6. Comrade Lwan Ni CEC
7. Comrade Mi Sue Pwint (a) Ma Lay Lon CEC
8. Comrade Maung Oo CEC
9. Comrade Salai Yaw Aung CEC
10. Comrade Chit Win CC
11. Comrade Kyaw Lin CC
12. Comrade Thura CC
13. Comrade Soe Htut CC
14. Comrade Min Htay CC
15. Comrade Thant Chain Myint CC
16. Comrade Yan Naing Soe CC
17. Comrade Win Tint Han CC
18. Comrade Thein Lwin CC reserve
19. Comrade Yee Htun CC reserve
20. Comrade Moe Kyaw Oo CC reserve
21. Comrade Nay Myo Htike CC reserve


Ceasefire & Peace Process

NCA signed: 15 October 2015

# Post-NCA Signed Clashes:
2015-16: unknown

The ABSDF is a student army that formed after the 1988 uprisings. Their objective is to fight for democracy and human rights in Myanmar alongside other democratic and ethnic nationality forces. They have 7 camps along the Myanmar-Thailand border, 3 camps along the Myanmar-India border and 3 camps on the Myanmar-China border. The ABSDF also has foreign branches in the US and Australia.

Official delegation team

U Myo Win (UPDJC)
Salai Yaw Aung (JMC)

Liaison offices

2. Muse
3. Proposed: Loikaw, Kalay,
Payathonsu, and Myeik


ABSDF northern Burma Branch bases in KIA
control area.

Email: [email protected]
Phone:+66 808 7725


 # Date Location Militia rep Govt Rep Details
117/01/2012Mae Sot, ThailandVice-chairman Myo WinAung ThaungABSDF presented a ‘peace talk’ paper that defined their position. They accepted the government’s peace offer as constructive first step and ready to talk if they are allocated equal rights. The government sent a formal letter offering to engage in peace talks with the ABSDF on Jan.10, 2012.
209/02/2012Mae Sot, ThailandVice-chairman Myo WinMajor Saw Khin Soe (representing Aung Thaung)No agreement was made, but both sides agreed to meet again for further negotiations.
309/11/2012Chiang Mai, ThailandChairman Than Khe, General secretary Myo Win and 4 othersAung MinBoth parties agreed on two points: (1) allow an ABSDF delegation to safely conduct a series of studies on the conditions in Myanmar (2) to continue political dialogue with the government Hla Maung Shwe, Nyo Ohn Myint were present
418-24/12/2012Naypyidaw and MPC YangonChairman Than Khe, Secretary Sonny Mahindra and 7 othersAung Min and MPC membersAn ABSDF delegation organized a study trip to better understand the government’s development and implementation of the peace process in the country. During the trip, they consulted with 88 Generation Student Group leaders, SNLD leader Khun Htun Oo and other ethnic political party leaders. The ABSDF delegation also met with their respective families.
521/05/2013MPCABSDFU Aung MinKo Kyaw Ko and Ko Sonny Mahindra led the ABSDF met with U Aung Min at MPC on May 21. ABSDF said “peace and national reconcialiation is important and priority to implement”. they discussed about continuing peace talks. Representatives from northern region did not turn up as the govt did not provide assistance or security.
612/07/2013Chiang Mai, ThailandABSDF technical teamMPC technical teamNo resulted
705/08/2013Yangon-MPCABSDF- total 34- 24 from CEC, 5 from northern and 5 from IndiaUPWC/ MPC4 agreement, 1. starting from august 5 to ceasefire, 2. ABSDF members must be free going around without weapons 3. Liasions office open at Myawaddy and other places etc. 4. Union level discussion will be on 10 August for official representative. 12 points proposed by ABSDF.
810/08/2013Yangon-MPCABSDF Chairman Than Khe, Vice-Chairman Myo Win, General Secretary Sonny and CEC membersU Aung Min and U Thein Zaw,Lt-Gen Thet Naing Win, U Ohn Myint, U Khin Yi and U Zeyar Aung,U Zaw Min, Deputy Attorney-General U Tun Tun Oo, the Kayin state advocate-general, the state security and border affairs minister, the senior military officers from the Office of Commander-inChief (Army), members of Myanmar Peace Center12 points agreement
908/11/2013Yangon-MPCGeneral Secretary Sonny and CEC membersUPWC technical teamInformal meeting
1009/11/2013Yangon-MPCABSDF/ ALPUPWC- Aung MinInformal meeting
1120/11/2013Nay Pyi TawABSDFUPWC- Aung MinUPWC and ABSDF meets in Naypyitaw for the ceasefire terms during the union level talks.
1230/05/2014NaypyitawKo Sonny and Ko Kyaw LinMinister of commerce U Win MyintBusiness


release all political prisoners
stop offensives in Kachin state and start political dialogue
nationwide ceasefire
build mutual trust and respect
all inclusive dialogue

Initial Agreements:
The government requested for the ABSDF to surrender their arms and set up a political party.

Activities with partners

The ABSDF supports the KIA in military campaigns. (1988-96, 2011-ongoing)

During the ABSDF delegation study trip in December, 2012, they met with NLD patron Tin Oo Ethnic Shan, Arakan and Mon leaders from the United Nationalities Alliance and 88 Generation Students group.


10 May 2015 – ABSDF’s message for 79th anniversary of ABFSU

10 Mar, 2015 – ABSDF released a statement on police cracked down on students protest
Nov 20, 2014 – ABSDF released a statement on Myanmar army attacked KIA academy
Aug 10, 2013 – UPWC and ABSDF signed 12 points Union Level peace agreement (Eng)
Aug 10, 2013 – UPWC and ABSDF signed 12 points Union Level peace agreement (Bur)
Aug 05, 2013 – 4 points agreement ABSDF and UPWC
Jul 30, 2013 – ABSDF’s statement on peace talks
Jan 07, 2013 – War conflict in Kachin state
Jan 07, 2013 – Requesting Buddhist monk
Jan 03, 2013 – Press conference in Yangon
Dec 18, 2012 – The first field trip to Yangon
Mar 31, 2012 – Postpone the Union level meeting date
Feb 09, 2012 – Preliminary meeting
Nov 08, 2011 – Ceasefire and peace process

Share me now!

Myanmar Peace Monitor